Thursday 23 May 2024
  • :
  • :

Contact Details T: 086 8903154 Email :

€5.6m investment proposed on upgrading local and regional roads in the Mallow area

Cork County Council today, 13th November 2012 outlined a comprehensive programme to upgrade local and regional roads in the Mallow area over the next four years, with an injection of almost €18m in new road infrastructure. The programme which was presented at today’s meeting of the Mallow Area Roads Committee of the authority was unanimously supported by local representatives.

Local Independent Cllr. John Paul O’ Shea who is Vice Chairman of the Mallow Area Roads Committee welcomed the proposed programme stating “This is a significant financial investment which will see a large number of improvements in our local and regional roads completed over the coming years. We have been liaising diligently with the Department of Transport in recent months to ensure the Mallow area receives an appropriate share of funding for our roads”.

Some of the local and regional roads that have been included in the 2013 – 2016 programme are as follows:

  • Ballybeg East to Ballybeg Middle, Twopothouse
  • Boola Road, Bweeng
  • Abbeyswell to Lackendarragh, Glantane
  • Tooreen/Commons, Kilavullen
  • Pendy’s Cross, Dromahane to Clashmorgan, Mourneabbey
  • N20 to Gortnagraiga, Mallow
  • Skenakilla, Castletownroche
  • St. Joseph’s Road, Mallow
  • Ballymacmoy to Ballynageehy, Killavullen
  • Rahan to Knockananig
  • Mountnagle to Caherduggan, Doneraile
  • Gouldshill to Railway Bridge
  • Buttevant to Ballyellis Cross
  • Ardarou to Coola
  • Coosane to Condonstown
  • Moanlahan
  • Bridestown to Bridestown Link Road
  • Streamhill Bridge t Brough Cross, Doneraile
  • Carrig to Chimneyfield, Killavullen
  • Monaparson, Mourneabbey
  • Lybaun Cross to Cecilstown
  • Lacka Bridge to Bogaheen Cross
  • Carrigunna, Killavullen
  • Knockbrack, Burnfort
  • Tooreen North, Burnfort
  • Lisballyhea
  • Skahanagh
  • Doneraile village
  • Imphrick to Churctown
  • Newberry Cross to Tullera Cross, Glantane
  • Carter Pike Cross to Ballynamona Cross, Shanballymore
  • Ballynamona Cross to Shanballymore
  • Shanballymore village
  • Hazel Tree to L-1208 road
  • Island, Burnfort
  • Curraghakerry
  • Twopothouse to Copestown Cross
  • Bweeng village
  • Castleblagh
  • Coolea to Gortroche
  • Aunamihoonagh to Moanlahan
  • Aunamihoonagh to Knockaudacorrin
  • Glannagoul, Kildinan
  • Gortroe Village
  • Shanballymore to Canteen Cross
  • Bog Road, Shanballymore
  • Lackendarragh Cross to Glantane
  • Boherash Cross to Grange Cross
  • Grange Cross to Kilmaclenina Cross
  • Grange Cross to Buttevant
  • Noonan’s Cross, Lombardstown to Carrigane
  • Monanimy, Killavullen
  • Whittles Cross to Kilgilky Cross, Ballymacpierce
  • Beenakehy to Killavullen
  • Watergrasshill village

Cllr. O’ Shea added “This is indeed great news as the roads named above will be greatly enhanced in the coming years. It is important that we outline to constituents, who are the people living on these roads and give them some indication of when improvements will be carried out in their locality. This comprehensive programme has been produced by the Engineering staff of Cork County Council and subject to Department of Transport approval; Cork County Council will invest more than €5.6m in our local and regional roads across the Mallow area between 2013 and 2016.