Thursday 18 April 2024
  • :
  • :

Contact Details T: 086 8903154 Email :

Milford village in North Cork aims to be Pride of Place

The small picturesque village of Milford in North Cork has been nominated by Cork County Council for the annual Pride of Place Awards.

Up to 800 people from all over the island of Ireland will gather in Treacy’s West County Hotel, Ennis, Co. Clare tomorrow evening for the annual Irish Public Bodies (IPB) Pride of Place ceremony. This year, Clare County Council will host the awards in partnership with Co-operation Ireland, who organise the competition north and south of the border.

IPB Pride of Place, which was first piloted in the summer of 2003 and came from the Local Authority All-Island Steering Forum. It aims to recognise and celebrate the vital contributions that communities make to society.

Cllr. John Paul O’ Shea (Ind), Chairman of the Kanturk/Mallow Municipal District of Cork County Council of which Milford village is a part of said “This annual competition has become one of the most prestigious community awards on the island of Ireland. Cork County Council is delighted to be associated with the Pride of Place awards since it started 11 years ago. I am delighted that Milford Community Council put forward such a strong case when the judges were in Milford during the summer and I sincerely hope they are successful in the awards tomorrow night. Cork County Council also nominated Glounthane Tidy Towns in South Cork and Goleen District and Community Council in West Cork for the awards and I want to wish them all the very best of good luck”.

The categories in this year’s competition have been expanded to include Eco Community Initiative, Community Innovation, Community Health Initiative (Theme Categories), Housing Estates, Population Categories up to 250 people, between 250-750 people, between 750 – 1,500, between 1,500 – 4,000 people, and in excess of 4,000, Islands & Coastal Communities and urban neighbourhoods.

The main category winners in 2013 included Clogher le Chéile (Donegal), Donaghmoyne (Monaghan), Kilcummin (Kerry), Miltown Malbay (Clare), Kilmore Quay (Tipperary), Horseleap / Streamstown (Westmeath), Megargy and District Game & Conservation Society Magherafelt (Derry), Ballina ( Mayo), Valenria Island (Kerry), Castleview Residents Association (Limerick), Waterford County Comhairle na nÓg, Beara Breifne Way (Cork) and St Christopher’s Arts Programme (Longford).

The Pride Of Place Awards will bring community representatives and local authorities from across the island of Ireland to Ennis. This year’s ceremony will also be streamed live to a national and international audience on and from 7.30pm tomorrow evening.