Thursday 25 July 2024
  • :
  • :

Contact Details T: 086 8903154 Email :

2024 County Mayor’s Community Awards

2024 County Mayor’s Community Awards

Outstanding contributions made by individuals together with community and voluntary groups from across Cork County were highlighted at the 11th Annual Mayor’s Community Awards in Cork County Hall.

The Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. Frank O’Flynn, presented a total of 11 awards on the night, with Theresa Hickey from West Cork winning the overall Individual award and The Fermoy International Choir, from North Cork, winning the overall Community Group award. 

Mayor O’Flynn warmly commended all nominees at the awards ceremony for their commitment and dedication to their communities, “This event is truly one of the highlights of my term as Mayor. It is a fantastic opportunity for me, for Cork County Council and for the people of Cork to show our appreciation for the hard work and commitment that goes into strengthening our communities and inspiring one another to succeed. It is truly an honour for me to be able to recognise and celebrate these incredible achievements this evening.”

Winner of the Overall Individual Mayor’s Community Award, Theresa Hickey, is a passionate voluntary community activist and a member of Co-Action West Cork Co Ltd, The Legion of Mary, The Carbery Show Society, The Red Cross Society, The Parish Council, and the I.F.A. Theresa was also a volunteer with Skibbereen Credit Union for many years. 

The Fermoy International Choir were awarded the Mayor’s Community Overall Group Award. 

The choir, established in 2019, was set up to bring all members of the community together. They have welcomed over 400 members from 50 countries and their success inspired the creation of a nationwide movement called ‘One Town One Voice’. They have featured on both RTÉ and BBC World Service, highlighting the best that local community has to offer. 

Chief Executive of Cork County Council Valerie O’Sullivan added, “Cork County Council’s mission is to improve quality of life and environment together with preserving and promoting local amenities and treasure heritage, all qualities which are augmented by the incredible work done at a community level throughout the county. It is no exaggeration to say that many of the wonderful things about towns and villages in the county are thanks to the amazing work of the nominees and groups and individuals like them. These awards are well-deserved recognition for the incredible community work that takes place all year round in Cork.”

Further Information:

Individual awards winners and social photographs are available at the following link:

South Cork Nominees

Ballinhassig Village Association   Group Winner 
Ringaskiddy & District Residents Association   Group Winner 
Knockadoon Enhancement Project   
Ballycotton RNLI   
My Place Community Centre   
Mary Pedder-Daly   Individual Winner 
Iain Grant   
Michael Wall   
Jennifer Kelleher   

North Cork Nominees

The Fermoy International Choir   Group Winner 
Meals on Wheels Fermoy  Group Winner 
Freemount Comhaltas U 15 Céilí Band   
Sr. Bernadette Maria  Individual Winner 
John Murphy   
Colman Walsh   

West Cork Nominees 

Aughadown Cancer Connect Fundraising Committee  Group Winner 
Dunmanway Christmas Swim   Group Winner 
St. Fachtnas Silver Band  
Ballinspittle U 18 Céilí Band  
Theresa Hickey  Individual Winner 
Fr. Pat O’ Donovan